Linesmen Can't Blow The Whistle On Clowe -- Is It Time For A Rule Change?
by Niesy on Apr 6, 2012 2:00 PM PDT
As every hockey fan who's awake on planet Earth by now probably knows, Sharks forward Ryane Clowe prevented an odd-man rush by the Kings in a tie game late in the third period last night. While still on the bench, he leaned over the boards and used his stick to bat the puck away from Jarret Stoll. No ref made the call.
The Kings were on a power play at the time. Had Clowe been detected, the Kings would have had a two man advantage for half of a minute, and finished out most of the period in a crucial game with the man advantage. Instead, the game went on to overtime and then a shootout, possibly affecting the race for the division title.
While our fans are furious that four men in stripes missed such a blatant penalty--after all, someone should be watching the puck, right?--it turns out that the linesmen can't make that call.
I think it's time to change that rule. Here are my thoughts on the subject. Hopefully, this rundown will also answer any of your questions.
Let's go to the video: